Skip to content

Graduate FAQ

Graduation

You may apply online at the Office of Graduate Studies. Enter your user name as: campus\net id. You should apply the semester prior to your graduating semester. Recommended application submission dates are listed below. There is no fee for this application unless you miss the deadline date.

Graduating Semester Apply for Graduation
Fall July
Spring December
Summer April

You must have a GPA of at least 3.2 in core graduate courses and an overall UTD GPA of at least 3.0 for all graduate coursework. If your GPA does not meet these requirements, one or more additional 6000-level courses must be taken. You must also complete a final degree plan. Contact the appropriate Graduate Studies Staff member for completion of your final degree plan:

M.S. students with last names that begin with A-K:  Emily Donaldson, eldonaldson@utdallas.edu, 972-883-4278
M.S. students with last names that begin with L-S:  Rachel Spataro, rachel.spataro@utdallas.edu, 972-883-4194
M.S. students with last names that begin with T-Z:  Eric Moden, eric.moden@utdallas.edu, 972-883-4705
Ph.D. students with last names that begin with A-Z:  Doug Hyde, dhyde@utdallas.edu, 972-883-6612

You must complete a final degree plan. Contact the appropriate staff members for completion of your final degree plan.

Current Students

The Erik Jonsson School of Engineering & Computer Science does not allow auditing of courses.
Students who wish to repeat a course must complete a Repeated Course Adjustment form in the Office of the Registrar. Up to three courses may be repeated, but no course may be repeated more than once. When a course is repeated, the earlier grade will remain on the student’s record and will be included on all transcripts. The second grade will be used in computing the grade-point average or credit hours for purposes of graduation or determination of probationary status. A notation beside the first grade will indicate that the course has been repeated.
Please contact one of the following CS graduate program advisers immediately:
Tim Farage, tfarage@utdallas.edu
Shyam Karrah, skarrah@utdallas.edu
Pushpa Kumar, pkumar@utdallas.edu