Skip to content

UT Dallas CS Faculty Members Earn Awards for Their Research

A paper co-written by computer science associate professor Dr. Tien N. Nguyen earned an ACM Distinguished Paper Award at the 24th ACM SIGSOFT International Symposium on the Foundations of Software Engineering.

The paper, “API Code Recommendation Using Statistical Learning from Fine-grained Changes,” was co-written by Nguyen and his former students at Iowa State University, Anh Tuan Nguyen and Hoan Anh Nguyen; and his colleagues, Danny Dig and Michael Hilton at Oregon State University.

The project, led by Nguyen, addresses the problem of auto-completion for source code to help programmers improve their productivity in integrated development environments. Their approach is the first to use statistical learning from historical, fine-grained code changes via data analytics to auto-complete partially editing source code.

The honor is Nguyen’s fourth ACM Distinguished Paper Award in the past eight years at top-tier software engineering conferences, including the International Symposium on the Foundations of Software Engineering in 2009 and the International Conference on Automated Software Engineering in 2012 and 2014. In 2015, he also earned the Best Formal Demonstration Paper Award at the International Conference on Software Engineering.

Cybersecurity Institute Director Honored for Lasting Research Work

Dr. Bhavani Thuraisingham, the Louis A. Beecherl Jr. Distinguished Professor of Computer Science at UT Dallas, is the inaugural recipient of the CODASPY Award for Outstanding Research on Data Security and Privacy.

The award was presented at the Association of Computing Machinery’s Conference on Data and Applications Security and Privacy (CODASPY).

The award recognizes Thuraisingham’s innovative and lasting research contributions, which have spanned over three decades at Honeywell, MITRE, the National Science Foundation (NSF) and UT Dallas. The award citation notes her work on multilevel secure databases (1980s), the inference problem (1990s), assured information sharing (2000s) and secure data management on the cloud (2010s).

Thuraisingham, who is executive director of the Cyber Security Research and Education Institute at UT Dallas, has received several prior awards, including the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Computer Society’s 1997 Technical Achievement Award; Association for Computing Machinery’s Special Interest Group on Security, Audit and Control 2010 Outstanding Contributions Award; and the Society for Design and Process Science 2012 Transformative Achievement Gold Medal. She is also a fellow of many organizations including the IEEE and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

“After working in the field for the past 32 years, I am as motivated as ever to continue my research and make significant contributions,” Thuraisingham said. “I am thankful for the opportunities I’ve been presented at Honeywell, MITRE, NSF and UT Dallas, and I’m very grateful to the U.S. government for sponsoring my research.”

Click here to read more about Dr. Bhavani Thuraisingham and this award.

Source | UTD News Center


The UT Dallas Computer Science program is one of the largest Computer Science departments in the United States with over 2,100 bachelor’s-degree students, more than 1,000 MS master’s students, 150 PhD students, and 86 faculty members, as of Fall 2016. With The University of Texas at Dallas’ unique history of starting as a graduate institution first, the CS Department is built on a legacy of valuing innovative research and providing advanced training for software engineers and computer scientists.

Thuraisingham receives the IEEE Computer Society Services Computing Technical Committee’s Inaugural 2017 Research Innovation Award
UT Dallas CS and AI Society Hold an AI Conference for Industry and Academia Members
Department of Computer Science