Skip to content

CS Professors, TAs Staff Celebrated at Jonsson School Ceremony

The Erik Jonsson School of Engineering and Computer Science recently hosted its annual appreciation awards celebration, which recognized faculty, students and staff nominated by their peers for their outstanding contributions and positive attitude.

“The Jonsson School hasn’t slowed at all,” said Dr. Poras T. Balsara, the school’s interim dean and professor of electrical and computer engineering. “Certainly not in terms of productivity and curiosity. Certainly not in terms of innovation. I believe the drive and intellectual rigor of our school is evidenced by the accomplishments of our award winners recognized here today.”

The awards are categorized by staff, students and faculty teaching and research. The research awards recognized faculty at the assistant, associate and full professor levels. Decisions were based on research productivity, including PhD supervision, publications and research impact.

Assistant Professor Research Award

Dr. Alvaro Cárdenas
, Fellow, Eugene McDermott Professor and assistant professor of computer science, received the assistant professor research award. Cárdenas joined the Jonsson School in 2013 with a research focus on cyber-physical systems and Internet of Things security and privacy; network intrusion detection; and wireless networks. He is the recipient of a National Science Foundation CAREER Award and has secured funding from a number of other sources. He has published numerous articles and book chapters. Cárdenas has supervised one PhD graduate and currently mentors eight other students.

Outstanding Faculty Teaching Awards
Dr. Ebru Çankaya
Dr. Linda Morales
Dr. Balaji Raghavachari

Outstanding Teaching Assistant Awards
Harish Babu Arunachalam
Juan Manuel Florez Fandino

Outstanding Staff Awards
Eric Moden, CS Degree Plan Evaluator 
Rhonda Walls, CS Administrative Project Coordinator 

Outstanding A&P Staff Award 
Rod Wetterskog, Assistant Dean of Corporate Relations, UTDesign Coordinator

Click here for the the complete list of top Jonsson School Professors, TAs, and Staff.

Source | UT Dallas News Center 


The UT Dallas Computer Science program is one of the largest Computer Science departments in the United States with over 2,400 bachelors-degree students, more than 1,000 master’s students, 150 Ph.D. students,  53 tenure-track faculty members and 38 full-time senior lecturers, as of Fall 2017. With The University of Texas at Dallas’ unique history of starting as a graduate institution first, the CS Department is built on a legacy of valuing innovative research and providing advanced training for software engineers and computer scientists.


Dr. Janell Straach Talks with D Magazine About Closing the Gender Gap in Tech
Drs. Gogate's and Ruozzi's Explainable AI Project Funded by DARPA for $1.8 Million
Department of Computer Science