Skip to content

Professor Thuraisingham Honored for Outstanding Record in Computer Science and Engineering Education

Dr. Bhavani Thuraisingham, Founders Chair in Engineering and Computer Science at The University of Texas at Dallas, will receive the 2023 IEEE Computer Society Taylor L. Booth Education Award for her leadership in cybersecurity education, data science education and mentorship of members of systemically marginalized groups.

IEEE will present the award Sept. 19 at its International Conference on Quantum Computing and Engineering in Bellingham, Washington. The award is one of several IEEE honors for Thuraisingham, who is an IEEE fellow and received the organization’s Edward J. McCluskey Technical Achievement Award in 1997 for her research in secure distributed data management.

“It is very gratifying to be recognized for contributing to cybersecurity and data science education as well as working with the systemically marginalized communities,” Thuraisingham said. “I am very honored to receive the Taylor L. Booth Education Award for my work over 42 years including in the commercial industry, a federal research lab, U.S. government and academia.”

Thuraisingham, who joined the Erik Jonsson School of Engineering and Computer Science in 2004, is a fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM), the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the British Computer Society and the National Academy of Inventors. She has received numerous professional awards for research innovation, leadership and technical achievement.

Thuraisingham has educated a global community including students in the U.S. and at the University of Dschang in Cameroon, members of federal agencies and industry contractors, and the general public. Thuraisingham has graduated 22 PhD students at UT Dallas — 11 of them women — including students from underserved communities.

“Dr. Thuraisingham, an internationally recognized cybersecurity expert who has received numerous honors from ACM, IEEE and other organizations for her outstanding research work, is also a highly motivated and enthusiastic educator, committed to inspiring and mentoring students at all levels, from K-12 to PhD,” said Dr. Ovidiu Daescu, holder of the Jonsson School Chair and professor and department head of computer science.

Thuraisingham, who served as founding executive director and is current senior strategist of the Cyber Security Research and Education Institute, and her research team pioneered machine learning algorithms for malware analysis and insider threat detection and developed layered frameworks for a secure cloud. She has published more than 130 journal articles, 300 conference papers and 16 books, and has delivered more than 200 keynote and featured talks including a featured address at the Women in Data Science Conference in 2018. She has seven U.S. patents.

Source | UTD News Center


The UT Dallas Computer Science program is one of the largest Computer Science departments in the United States with over 4,000 bachelors-degree students, more than 1,010 master’s students, 140 Ph.D. students,  52 tenure-track faculty members, and 42 full-time senior lecturers, as of Fall 2022. With the University of Texas at Dallas’ unique history of starting as a graduate institution first, the CS Department is built on a legacy of valuing innovative research and providing advanced training for software engineers and computer scientists.

ChatGPT: The strengths and limitations of the AI technology
Spring’23 Grace Series Starts the Semester with Dr. Ling Liu of the School of Computer Science at the Georgia Institute of Technology
Department of Computer Science