Skip to content

Dr. Fred Schneider – The Fall 2015 Computer Science Distinguished Lecture Series

The UT Dallas Computer Science Department’s Distinguished Lecture series featured Dr. Fred B. Schneider on November 13th. Dr. Schneider is the chairman and Samuel B. Eckert Professor of Computer Science at Cornell University, where he has been on the faculty since 1978. Dr. Schneider’s research concerns trustworthy systems, most recently focusing on computer security.

The talk was titled “A Doctrine of Public Cyber Security.” During his talk, Dr. Schneider discussed why past doctrines have failed, and a proposal for a new doctrine of public cyber security, in collaboration with Deirdre K. Mulligan of the University of California, Berkley. Dr. Schneider notes, “With increasing dependence on networked computing systems comes increasing vulnerability. The vulnerabilities are mostly technical in origin, but their remediation is not. Only by coupling technical insight with public policy do we stand a good chance to create a safer and more secure cyberspace.”

Dr. Schneider is a fellow of the AAAS (American Association for the Advancement of Science), ACM (Association for Computing Machinery), and IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers). He was the editor of “Trust in Cyberspace,” a report from the U.S. National Research Council’s study committee on information systems trustworthiness that Schneider chaired.

In 2003, he was awarded an honorary D.Sc. [honoris causa] by the University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne. His survey paper on state machine replication received an ACM SIGOPS (Special Interest Group on Operating Systems) Hall of Fame Award in 2007. He received the 2012 IEEE Emanuel R. Piore Award for “contributions to trustworthy computing through novel approaches to security, fault-tolerance and formal methods for concurrent and distributed systems”.

Dr. Schneider is a member of the board for the Computing Research Association, the NRC Computer Science and Telecommunications Board (CSTB) and NRC Naval Studies Board (NSB), and he is the founding chair of the NRC forum on Cyber Resilience. He was elected to membership of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering and to its Norwegian counterpart, the Norwegian Academy of Technological Sciences (NTVA). He served on the Pentagon’s Defense Board (DSB) and continues to serve on various DSB task forces.

1DIST LECT - SCHNEIDER - FALL 2015 5To read more about Dr. Fred B. Schneider click here.

About the UT Dallas Computer Science Department

The UT Dallas Computer Science program is one of the largest Computer Science departments in the United States with over 1,600 bachelor’s-degree students, more than 1,100 master’s students, 160 PhD students, and 80 faculty members, as of Fall 2015. With The University of Texas at Dallas’ unique history of starting as a graduate institution first, the CS Department is built on a legacy of valuing innovative research and providing advanced training for software engineers and computer scientists.

Click here to view the UT Dallas CS Department’s Flickr account for photos from past events.

Washington Post’s CIO/CTO, Shailesh Prakash launches the UT Dallas CS Fall 2015 Distinguished Lecture Series
CS Freshman Raviteja Lingineni wins First Place in the Business Idea Competition for Undergraduates
Department of Computer Science