Skip to content

University Honors Graduate Students for Excellence in Research, Teaching

In recognition of excellence among doctoral students, The University of Texas at Dallas’ Office of Graduate Studies has introduced an awards program honoring the top doctoral dissertation in each school.

Winners of the inaugural 2017 Best Dissertation Award were announced at an April reception celebrating excellence in graduate education.

The recipients are:

Best Teaching Assistant Award

Two students earned the David E. Daniel Graduate Fellowship, which is supported by an endowment established in 2006 by the former UT Dallas president. The award recognizes an exceptional doctoral student each year in the Erik Jonsson School of Engineering and Computer Science and in the School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics.

The recipients were Sujeet Patole in electrical engineering and Wenwen Huo in molecular and cell biology.

Two students who previously received Best Teaching Assistant Awards from their schools also were recognized at the event: Kevin Wells in the School of Arts and Humanities and Nimmy Mammoottil in the School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics.

“Congratulations to all the award winners,” said Dr. Marion Underwood, dean of graduate studies and Ashbel Smith Professor in the School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences. “Their hard work and creativity earned them this honor and, I believe, will serve them well in their future endeavors.”

UT Dallas awards about 190 doctoral and professional degrees each year across 31 disciplines in seven schools.

“These students highlight the quality of graduate education throughout UT Dallas’ programs, which is vitally important for enhancing our reputation as a prominent research university,” Underwood said.

Dr. Frederico Araujo received his PhD under the supervision of Dr. Kevin Hamlen.

Dr. Frederico Araujo received his PhD under the supervision of Dr. Kevin Hamlen.

Last summer, We spoke with Dr. Fred Araujo about his dissertation and his future career as a researcher at IBM T.J. Watson, one of the most acclaimed computer science research facilities in the world. You can click here to read the entire Q&A Session with Dr. Araujo.


Source | UT Dallas News Center


The UT Dallas Computer Science program is one of the largest Computer Science departments in the United States with over 2,100 bachelor’s-degree students, more than 1,000 MS master’s students, 150 PhD students, and 86 faculty members, as of Fall 2016. With The University of Texas at Dallas’ unique history of starting as a graduate institution first, the CS Department is built on a legacy of valuing innovative research and providing advanced training for software engineers and computer scientists.

Prof. Prabhakaran Shares 3D Immersive Tele-Rehabilitation Research at Capitol Hill
Dr. Alvaro Cardenas' PhD Student, Junia Valente, Talks to Forbes About How Vulnerable Quadcopter Drones Are To Hacking
Department of Computer Science